Securing Your Virtual Classrooms

"Zoom-bombing" is the intrusion of uninvited participants into your Zoom meeting, often engaging in harrassing or disruptive behavior.  Zoom has published the following guide to aid instructors in preventing or stopping this behavior: Best Practices for Securing Your Virtual Classroom

In order to keep FPU meetings safe several default settings have been enabled for users and meetings in the FPU Zoom account.

  • Only authenticated users with an FPU Office 365 account can join a meeting so that external 'bad' actors cannot join unexpectedly
    • If you need to allow external participants, this setting can be toggled off
    • A setting is enabled to identify any external participants as a "Guest" on the participants screen
  • Participants who join meetings have their video and audio turned off so that no one can immediately enter the meeting room in a disruptive fashion
  • Meeting participants cannot change their display name from the name on their Zoom account so that users are accurately identified
  • Only the meeting Host can use the Screen Share feature so that students (or other participants) cannot take control of what is shared with the whole meeting without permission
    • The host can toggle this feature on for all participants from the in-meeting "Advanced Sharing Options", when necessary.
  • Screen Annotation is disabled so that students (or other participants) cannot write or draw on the screen without permission

(Note: If you have scheduled meetings that were created before Friday, April 3, 2020, please review your settings for your meeting now, as these settings update were not able to be retroactively applied.)

Even with all of the appropriate settings, incidents can still occur. If you are hosting meetings or classes, please encourage your participants not to share the meeting ID or password, and take time to familiarize yourself with the controls to be prepared to remove disruptive participants from your meetings should the need arise.

The video below, from Zoom, provides instructions for locking your Zoom room after you begin your meeting and removing distracting users.